Best day of the year so far

There was a day in my youth when a jazz band came to my high school and a we got the afternoon off to watch them. Then that night a jazz band was performing at the book store where I worked.

It was a coincidence, both were surprises, and I felt transcendent, really moved by the music and I knew I wanted music to be a the core of my life for sure that night. I declared it was the best day of my life. I said that I would use that day as the barometer for great days for ever after.

And the funny thing is that I know there have been days since then that I remember declaring better but I don’t ever remember why. Because great days aren’t usually eventful days. And because any great day since I was 18 inevitably involves alcohol. And occasionally drugs.

Often the best days are ultimately quite simple. I’m certain all of the days I’d rank among the best involve music and friendship, a sense of belonging.

Yesterday, March 1st, was a great day and very simple. I had fun at work, I had a songwriting break through on something I’ve been working on forever, I spent time with Simone, had band practice and felt great about my vocals for the first time since I was sick, and then beers with Rob and Quade.

It’s not much in the grand scheme of things as they say but I never had a moment of unhappiness in the entire day and that’s all I can ask for.

Singer/songwriter, jerk.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

