On A Saying I Fucking Hate

You always fucking hear “Without darkness we wouldn’t know light” or any bullshit like that. And it honestly makes me want to punch people. Then ten minutes later ask “Does your face feel better now than before because you have the punch to compare it to?”

Do you have to overcome cancer to appreciate not having it, you fuck stick?

You know how I feel when I’m happy? Fucking happy. I don’t think boy I’m glad I had a shit year so I can fully enjoy not feeling suicidal right now. In fact when I’m happy I’m fully aware that I’ll be sinking into despair again pretty soon.

Happiness is always tinged with fear for me, it feels like an illusion I’ll shake off any second. The memory of all that darkness doesn’t make the good times better, it stalks me.

Remember the end of Willy Wonka. What happens to the kid who gets everything they want? They’re very happy.

It’s a bullshit societal idea that if a holocaust survivor discovers happiness it’s of a higher meaning than someone who simply had a good life start to finish but that’s crap. Hard times are stupid, survivors get PTSD not enlightenment, depression can’t be cured by Instagram, and everyone settles for whatever happiness they chance into.

People trying to force others to be positive to handle their own insecurity are twats and no one authentically likes you.

Author/Athlete, Thinker/Doer

Posted in Pop Culture, Pragmatism