Other Artists I’d Like To See Get The Beyond Van Gogh Treatment

The Beyond Van Gogh exhibit is a neat thing. If you didn’t catch it’s pop culture moment here’s the promo video:

It was in fact awe inspiring, I was wide-eyed and silent, I teared up at one point. My only sort of complaint was that it left you with nothing. During the experience it was amazing but immediately afterwards it was just over as if it never happened. But from a business perspective it was a raging success so it’s no surprise that there’s going to be a Beyond Monet. Which will feel very much the same. It will be nice. Epicly nice but merely nice nonetheless.

I keep thinking, though, about other artists I’d like to see get the treatment and create a truly different experience though…

Now, keeping it popular and accessible I’d say do Beyond Picasso:

Just covering the different eras of his work would give you so much.

Then keeping it classical but getting towards something darker I’d do Beyond Goya and set it to the music of Wagner or some epic shit like that:

Then I think you could get closer to modern with it, and get… ominous… with it and do Francis Bacon:

Finally for that vein of traditional painters I’d do a Beyond Bekzinski: Just fucking ruin the audience with, like, the Resident Evil soundtrack and shit:

And actually I have to say, as I gathered all these images I find Bacon more disturbing. It’s like, yes Bekzinski is a horror artist but it’s so firmly in that genre that it takes some of the edge off, meanwhile Bacon’s work is so unsettling because it’s not deliberately ‘horror’ or ‘spooky’ or anything like that.

Moving in a slightly different direction after that I’d do sleaze-ball animator extraordinaire Ralph Bakshi or maybe just that whole 70’s American cartoon genre – like the animated classics Heavy Metal and Rock n’ Rule:

And very finally I think this is a great medium for Roger Waters to continue to exploit The Wall after all these decades and let us see this art 20ft high and semi-mobile:

Author/Athlete, Thinker/Doer

Posted in Pragmatism
Archives